Important Updates:

Having trouble viewing our website in Internet Explorer? Try using Firefox or Chrome instead.


Planning Department


Welcome to the City of Airway Heights

Planning Department  

The primary function of the Airway Heights Planning Department is to review land-use activities in the City including:

  • Land Segregation and Aggregation
  • Residential, Commercial and Industrial Site Development
  • Signs and Landscaping
  • Home Occupation, Temporary and Special Event Permits
  • Rezones and Conditional Use Permits
  • Annexations and Comprehensive Map and Text Changes

The Planning Department strives to provide excellent customer service to residents, landowners, and business owners in Airway Heights.  

The Airway Heights Municipal Code (AHMC) Titles that are the primary responsibility of the Planning Department are Title 14, Development Code, Title 16, Subdivisions, and Title 17, Zoning. Any questions regarding these sections of the AHMC should be directed to the Planning Department at the contacts below.


Planning Department Contacts  

To contact Planning: 

Phone (509) 244-2552

Fax (509) 244-4317

Mailing Address: 1208 S Lundstrom St, Airway Heights, WA 99001



City of Airway Heights Art Commission 


Recruitment for New Commission

The City of Airway Heights is currently recruiting for seven openings for a new Arts Commission. This is an exciting opportunity to support community beautification, contribute to place making, and support livability through the proliferation of public art throughout Airway Heights. If you or someone you know are interested in serving on this Commission, please submit a completed application via the link below! 


Promotes the growth and development of the arts within the City of Airway Heights and advises City Council and Departments on matters pertaining to the arts.

The Commission shall be specifically responsible for, but not limited to, the following:

  1. The Public Art Commission (herein referred to as the Commission) shall provide leadership to enhance the experience of public space, be an effective advisory body to recommend and implement approved Public Art policy and procedures, and maintain thoughtful public participation, outreach, and communications concerning public art.
  2. The Commission recommends to the City Council all Public Art applications and City Council approval shall be necessary prior to the installation of public art in the City of Airway Heights unless otherwise noted.
  3. The Commission shall initiate and develop proposals to receive recommendations and to solicit contributions for additions to the existing collection of Public Art.
  4. The Commission shall be responsible for the development and oversight of a Public Art Plan including criteria and guidelines for the selection, of new Public Art, either temporary or permanent. The criteria and guidelines shall relate but are not limited to economic feasibility, maintenance, security, and aesthetics. No Public Art shall be acquired, loaned, or installed, nor shall existing Public Art be deaccessioned or removed from public places without prior review by the Commission.
  5. The Commission is authorized to establish a jury, advisory group, or consult with Public Artists when reviewing an application or acquiring a piece of Public Art.
  6. The Commission shall submit an annual report to the City Manager on its activities.


Appointment and Terms

Appointment: The Arts Commission shall consist of seven members, a minimum of five members that are residents of the City of Airway Heights. All members are appointed by the Mayor. Such members may include a representative of the following entities:

  1. When possible, two (2) individuals chosen from the following disciplines: landscape architecture, architecture, urban planning, interior design, engineering, or a related design discipline.
  2. Two (2) professional Artists.
  3. One (1) citizen knowledgeable in the field of Public Art, education, or community affairs.
  4. One (1) citizen knowledgeable of the real estate and development community.
  5. One (1) at-large citizen.


Terms of office: The Arts Commission shall:

  1. Commissioner terms shall be for a four-year period. Terms shall expire on the thirty-first day of January.
  2. 2.Removal. Members of the Commission may be removed by the Mayor, with the concurrence of the City Council, for neglect of duty, conflict of interest, malfeasance in office, or other just cause, or for unexcused absence from three regular meetings within a 12-month period. Failure to qualify as to residency shall constitute a forfeiture of office. The decision of the City Council regarding membership on the Arts Commission shall be final and without appeal.
  3. Any vacancy that results from an expired term or resignation shall be filled by the City Council.


The original appointees will be appointed: three for one year, two for two years and two for three years; thereafter, all terms will be for four years. All appointed members may vote on any matter coming before the Arts Commission.



The Arts Commission utilizes public art grant funds received through grant awards by various entities and funds from City of Airway Heights capital projects.

The Commission are volunteers and are not compensated for their services.

Staff Liaison

Heather Trautman, Principal Planner – or 509-244-2552

Zachary Becker, Planning Technician – or 509-244-2552


Application for Arts Commission.





Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.